(re)polished furniture

Just another WordPress.com site

For Sale: Table and chair set September 10, 2011

Filed under: Current Projects,For Sale — willandlauren @ 3:19 pm

Here is my first project that I will be selling! I found this table and chair set that is perfect for a small kitchen. It has a small leaf to make a round table oval-shaped. I also found this set at Salvation Army for a steal (half off!).

Here are before pictures:

The challenge here is that the table top is veneer (fake wood!) but the rest is hard wood. I have painted veneer before but it chips and scratches easily. I found this blog: Living with Lindsay, a mom who re-finishes furniture also and has great ideas for decorating as well. She walked me through the process of finishing veneer, even suggesting what products (what grain of sand paper and what primer) to use.  I am learning that some of my early projects were a bit rushed and the finish will not last as long. True to life–I need to slow down and enjoy the process. It may take two weeks instead of two days, but hopefully I will have better quality at the end.

Here are a few after pictures. It ended up taking me a few weeks as I worked on some other projects too, but it is finally done. I found this great upholstery fabric on sale and chose the paint colors to match. The fabric was easy to work with and I just used a staple gun to wrap them like little presents.

I am consigning this set at Joyful Furniture in Boulder: http://www.joyfulfurniture.com/.

 

 

One Response to “For Sale: Table and chair set”

  1. Christa Says:

    I didn’t even know you had this blog… yeah! I have been painting furniture forever and I too have learned to not rush things. Primer is so important and LETTING it dry… I just finished painting my kitchen cabinets – it took me a whole month and my kitchen is not big. (actually still have some sanding and painting left) It is fun to see your projects! You are so creative! Love it!


Leave a Reply

